TH university exec assumes SEARCA board chairmanship

A THAI university executive has assumed the chairmanship of the governing board of the Los Baños-based Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA).

Associate Professor Dr. Sutkhet Nakasathien, vice president for research and creation at Kasetsart University in Thailand, was elected to serve in this position from 2023 to 2025.

As chairman of the board, Sutkhet will lead SEARCA's highest policymaking body which also defines the general policy guidelines of the center.

Playing a pivotal role in shaping the strategic direction of SEARCA, the board also conducts an annual review and evaluation of the center's programs, financial resources and operations to ensure sustained growth and excellence in its work for agricultural development.

The board is composed of representatives from each Southeast Asia Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) member country who were nominated by their respective Ministers/Secretaries of Education and appointed by the SEAMEO Council.

The SEAMEO member countries are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam while the associate member countries are Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain and the United Kingdom.

The SEAMEO secretariat director and the SEARCA director serve as ex-officio members.

"Dr. Sutkhet's election as chair of the SEARCA governing board not only recognizes his outstanding leadership at Kasetsart University but also underscores his dedication to advancing agricultural education and research on a regional scale," SEARCA director Dr. Glenn Gregorio said.

He added that SEARCA congratulates Sutkhet on his new role and eagerly anticipates the positive impact his leadership will bring to furthering the center's mission and vision.

Under Gregorio's leadership, the SEARCA governing board also witnessed the election and commendable tenure of Associate Professor Dr. Chew Fook Tim, country representative of Singapore, and Dr. Jose Camacho Jr., country representative of the Philippines, as SEARCA governing board chairmen.