SEARCA, Nagoya University renew accord

  • 6 January 2015, Tuesday

Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr. (second from right), SEARCA Director, and Dr. Michinari Hamaguchi, NU President, shake hands after signing the MOU. Looking on are Dr. Virginia R. Cardenas (leftmost), SEARCA Deputy Director for Administration, and Dr. Akira Yamauchi (rightmost), Director of NU’s International Cooperation Center for Agricultural Education.

The Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA) and Nagoya University (NU), Japan signed a Memorandum of Understanding on Academic Cooperation in Education and Research on 18 December 2014. Under the agreement, SEARCA and NU commit to collaborate on a number of activities to pursue common education and research objectives. This MOU renews and updates the Memorandum of Agreement signed by SEARCA and NU in 1983.

Signatories are Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr., SEARCA Director, and Dr. Michinari Hamaguchi, President of Nagoya University. The signing ceremony was held at SEARCA and witnessed by key officials and staff members of SEARCA and NU.

Nagoya University is a leading Japanese university whose mission is “to foster the harmonious development of human nature and science, and to conduct highly advanced research and education that oversees the broad sweep of humanities and social and natural sciences.”

Under the MOU, SEARCA and NU will collaborate in promoting academic cooperation through the exchange of academic and research staff, scholars, and students between the two institutions through the SEARCA-initiated Southeast Asian University Consortium for Graduate Education in Agriculture and Natural Resources (UC); joint projects in graduate scholarship, research, and capacity building; joint conferences, workshops, and study tours; and exchange of scientific publications and other knowledge resources.

The MOU will be in force until December 2019 and automatically extended for another three years thereafter unless either party gives written notice to end the accord.

Other members of the NU delegation are Dr. Katsuki Ito, Professor Emeritus and Executive Advisor; Dr. Tetsuo Saito, Professor Emeritus, and Dr. Toshiharu Tanaka, both of the Graduate School of Bioagricultural Sciences; Dr. Akira Yamauchi, Director, International Cooperation Center for Agricultural Education and Professor, Graduate School Bioagricultural Sciences; Dr. Yoshito Ito, Chief Manager of Nagoya University Alumni Association Department of Civil Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering; Associate Professor Tomio Nakano, Manager of Nagoya University Alumni Association, Graduate School of Law; Designated Assistant ProfessorJoshua A. Reyer, Graduate School of Medicine; Dr. Eiko Yamamoto, Designated Associate Professor, Nagoya University Asian Satellite Campuses Institute; Dr. Editha C. Cedicol, Designated Professor, Nagoya University Satellite Campuses Institute, Cambodia; Mr. Hirohito Saigusa, Director, International Affairs Department; and Ms. Yumiko Oya, Senior Staff, and Mr. Senta Kobayashi, Administrative Staff, both of the International Planning Division. (Leah Lyn D. Domingo)