SEARCA, CDAT sign MOU for institutional cooperation

  • 31 March 2015, Tuesday

Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr., SEARCA Director, (seated third from the right) and Dr. Theera Visitpanich, CDAT Chairman, (seated fourth from the right) sign the Memorandum of Understanding for institutional cooperation. Witnessing the MOU signing are deans and faculty members from CDAT member universities and the SEARCA Program Heads and Deputy Director for Administration.

The Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA) and the Council of the Deans of Agricultural Science, Thailand (CDAT) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for institutional cooperation on 13 March 2015.

searca-cdat-sign-mou-for-institutional-cooperation-2Under the MOU, SEARCA and CDAT commit to collaborate on a number of activities, including staff exchange for research, lecture, and academic extension, exchange of publications, joint staff development program, and collaborative research.

Signatories to the MOU are Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr., SEARCA Director, and Associate Prof. Theera Visitpanich, CDAT Chairman. The signing ceremony was held at SEARCA during the visit to the Philippines of the CDAT delegation composed of 23 deans and faculty members from 11 members, namely: Chiang Mai University, Kasetsart University – Bangkhen Campus and Kamphaeng Saen Campus, Naresuan University, Sukhothai Thammathirat Open University, Ubon Ratchathani University, Maejo University, Rajamangala University of Technology Tawan, and Rajamangala University of Technology Isan – Surin Campus and Sakon Nakhon Campus.

Altogether, the Council comprises deans from 30 faculties and schools of agricultural universities and colleges in Thailand. It was organized to set the general direction for agricultural higher education in Thailand and lead appropriate activities toward agricultural productivity in the country.

The other members of CDAT are Rajamangala University of Technology – Lanna, Thanyaburi, and Srivijaya Campuses; University of Phayao; Khon Kaen University; Mahasarakham University; Nakhon Phanom University; Kasetsart University – Sakon Nakhon Campus; Suranaree University of Technology; King Mongkut’s Institute of Technology Ladkrabang; Silpakorn University; Prince Songkla University; Walailak University; Thaksin University; and Princess of Naradhiwas University.

The MOU will be in force until March 2020 and is subject to extension upon mutual consent of both organizations.