62nd SEARCA Governing Board Meeting convened

  • 23 November 2014, Sunday

Participants of the 62nd SEARCA Governing Board Meeting held on 17-18 November 2014 in Makati City, Philippines. From left: Prof. Dr. –Ing. Ir. Renuganth Varatharajoo of Malaysia; Dr. Bounheuang Ninchaleune of Lao PDR; Mr. Saiful Rizal bin Haji Marali of Brunei Darussalam; Dr. Ngo Bunthan of Cambodia; Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr. of SEARCA; Dr. Witaya Jeradechakul of SEAMES; Prof. Prakash Kumar of Singapore; Dr. Acacio Cardoso Amaral of Timor-Leste; Dr. Kanyanat Sirithunya of Thailand; and Dr. Tran Van Dien of Vietnam.

MANILA, Philippines – The 62nd meeting of the Governing Board (GB) of the Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA) was held at the Holiday Inn and Suites Makati on 17-18 November 2014.

As the highest policymaking body of SEARCA, the GB discussed the Center’s strategies and directions in boosting the region’s agriculture and rural development sectors through SEARCA’s core programs of graduate education and institutional development, research and development, and knowledge management.

The SEARCA GB is composed of representatives of the 11 member countries of the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO), and its meetings are held in rotation in the member countries.

Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mohd Fauzi Hj Ramlan, Vice Chancellor, Universiti Putra Malaysia, succeeds Professor Prakash Kumar of the National University of Singapore Department of Biological Sciences as Chair of the SEARCA GB. Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mohd Fauzi was represented at the meeting by Prof. Dr. –Ing. Ir. Renuganth Varatharajoo, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Industry and Community Relations).

Aside from Prof. Kumar, the other GB members who attended the meeting were Mr. Saiful Rizal bin Haji Marali, Acting Principal, Wasan Vocational School, Ministry of Education, Brunei Darussalam; Dr. Ngo Bunthan, Rector, Royal University of Agriculture, Cambodia; Dr. Bounheuang Ninchaleune, Dean of Agriculture, Savannakhet University, Lao PDR; Dr. Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr., Chancellor, University of the Philippines Los Baños, Philippines; Dr. Acacio Cardoso Amaral, Dean, Agriculture Faculty, National University of Timor Lorosaé; and Dr. Tran Van Dien, Rector, College of Agriculture and Forestry, Thai Nguyen University, Vietnam.

Also present was Dr. Kanyanat Sirithunya representing Dr. Numyoot Songthaniapitak, Chairman of Rajamangala University of Technology Network, Rajamangala University of Technology Lanna, the representative of Thailand to the SEARCA GB.

Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr., SEARCA Director, and Dr. Witaya Jeradechakul, SEAMEO Secretariat Director, both ex officio members of the SEARCA GB, were also in attendance.

On 19 November 2014, the GB members from Brunei, Cambodia, Singapore, and Timor-Leste and the representative of the Thai GB member visited SEARCA’s headquarters and other facilities. A luncheon with SEARCA staff and scholars was held in their honor. (Leah Lyn D. Domingo)

GB members from Brunei, Cambodia, Singapore, and Timor-Leste and the representative the Thai GB member join SEARCA staff and scholars for a souvenir photo during their visit to the Center’s headquarters on 19 November 2014.

(From left) Dr. Bounheuang Ninchaleune, Mr. Saiful Rizal bin Haji Marali, Dr. Kanyanat Sirithunya, and Prof. Prakash Kumar together with Dr. Ngo Bunthan (sixth from right), Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr. (eighth from right), Dr. Virginia R. Cardenas (ninth from left), Dr. Bessie M. Burgos (eighth from left), and Dr. Maria Celeste H. Cadiz (rightmost) pose for a souvenir photo with Cambodian SEARCA scholars studying at the University of the Philippines Los Baños during the GB members’ visit to the Center on 19 November 2014.