SEARCA Governing Board

The SEARCA Governing Board (GB) is SEARCA's highest policymaking body. The GB is composed of representatives from each SEAMEO Member Country who are nominated by their respective Ministers/Secretaries of Education and appointed by the SEAMEO Council. The SEAMEO Secretariat (SEAMES) Director and SEARCA Director serve as ex-officio members of the Board.

The GB defines the general policy guidelines of the Center. They also conduct an annual review and evaluation of SEARCA's programs, financial resources, and operations.


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sutkhet Nakasathien

SEAMEO SEARCA Governing Board Chair, and
Vice President for Research and Creation
Kasetsart University
Bangkok, Thailand
Term: 6 March 2022 to 5 March 2025


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chew Fook Tim

SEAMEO SEARCA Governing Board Vice Chair,
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, and
Vice Dean, Undergraduate Education and Student Life
Faculty of Science
Department of Biological Sciences
National University of Singapore
Term: 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2025

Brunei Darussalam

Dr. Suhaimi bin Haji Abdul Wahab

Principal of IBTE Satellite Campuses
Institute of Brunei Technical Education (IBTE)
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Term: 31 August 2021 to 30 August 2024


Dr. Huon Thavrak

Royal University of Agriculture
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Term: 16 June 2023 to 15 June 2026


Prof. Dra. Tjitjik Sri Tjahjandarie

Acting Secretary of Directorate General for Higher Education
Ministry of Education, Culture, Research, and Technology
Jakarta, Indonesia
Term: 22 March 2022 to 21 March 2025


Dr. Somphong Chanthavong

Acting Dean
Faculty of Agriculture and Environment
Savannakhet University
Savannakhet Province, Lao PDR
Term: 26 July 2022 to 25 July 2025


YBhg. Prof. Dr. Nazamid bin Saari

Department of Food Science
Faculty of Food Science and Technology
Universti Putra Malaysia
Selangor, Malaysia
Term: 14 April 2023 to 13 April 2026


Dr. Ye Tint Tun

Director General
Department of Agriculture
Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, and Irrigation
Naypyitaw, Myanmar
Term: 2 February 2024 to 1 February 2027


Dr. Jose V. Camacho, Jr.

University of the Philippines Los Baños
Laguna, Philippines
Term: 7 November 2022 to 6 November 2025


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Acacio Cardoso Amaral

President of Instituto Politecnico de Betano
School of Agronomy and Animal Science
Department of Animal Production
Instituto Politecnico de Betano
Rua Suco de Betano, Same
Manufahi, Timor-Leste
Term: 28 September 2023 to 27 September 2026


Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nguyen The Hung

Thai Nguyen University of Agriculture and Forestry
Thai Nguyen City, Vietnam
Term: 21 September 2020 to 20 September 2023

SEAMEO Secretariat

Datuk Dr. Habibah Abdul Rahim

SEAMEO Secretariat
Bangkok, Thailand
Term: 1 April 2023 to present


Dr. Glenn B. Gregorio

Center Director
Laguna, Philippines
Term: 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2025